MARKETING BYTES BLOG

Digital Age Journalism & Social Media Anthropology

How to Make Bread Pudding out of Stale Bread

Bread pudding

A pan of bread pudding photographed by WEIRDPOH from the site http://www.allrecipes.com

Anyone who has had an interest in both cooking and not wasting food has probably taken stale bread and made it into bread pudding. There are other uses for stale bread, like making it into breadcrumbs, but my favorite is bread pudding. Believe it or not, this blog post is not about food, per se; it is about the Internet and the mention of food is for metaphorical purposes only.

At a presentation on ‘social media’ that I recently attended, the concept of websites as becoming intrinsically stale was mentioned. A light went off in my head. An observation very much along those lines had occurred to me only a few days earlier while researching nail art, a new hobby of mine.

In attempting to learn more about the topic, I first did a Google search for ‘nail art’. Then I clicked on several links that took me to specific websites for both nail artists and nail art products. What I found at the point (and I am not certain it was even conscious) was the following. After I reached an individual site, I barely browsed through it but looked almost immediately for links to facebook, twitter, etc. Somehow I instinctively knew something but at that moment, I did not know what it was.

When I had time to let the whole recipe come together, after hearing the concept of websites becoming stale, I realized that ‘social media’ is like making bread pudding out of stale bread. These are the reasons that were voiced at the presentation and others that I believe to support this case:

• It is almost impossible to keep a website from becoming stale. Unless someone can update it daily, to keep in fresh, it will inevitably not be current. In addition, new information may not be immediately noticeable, either.

• Secondly, ‘social media’ is by nature, immediate, interactive and personal. Facebook communication takes place daily or several times a day and twitter is live; interaction and communication can take place in seconds, minutes, or hours. How many times have you gone to a website to find that to be the case?

• Thirdly, even the highest ranked businesses (except giants like Google and Yahoo) can hardly compare in the number of visits that facebook has. I am talking in geometric not arithmetic terms.

• But the most important thing to me about ‘social media’ is that the personality of the company or person comes through loud and clear for the reasons mentioned above. Except for ‘live chatting’ capability on some websites or traditional e-mail, this is not the case with anything I have found besides ‘social media’.

Therefore, I have concluded that ‘social media’ is the ‘bread pudding’ of the Internet if websites are the stale bread. And by the way, when you add your ‘social media’ links to your website, be sure they appear above the fold so visitors can see them immediately and visit them in the blink of an eye (or a taste of scrumptious bread pudding).

2 Comments

  1. I love your style, so warm, so social, I feel like home!
    You don’t throw a lot of useless facts at me or do I feel hard press to buy anything. You share your life, your real life not some made up story, again, just to get me to the point of buying something. You educate and teach by personal example which make your concepts very easy to grasp but yet poignant. Alison Gilbert, don’t change a thing, your bread pudding is fresh delectably scrumptious! I am so humbled, You have taught me I have a lot to learn!

  2. Anderson,
    Thank you for your tremendously kind and insightful response. You have hit the nail right on the head in what I attempt to achieve with my blog posts.
    I really appreciate what you have said and hope you will be a constant commenter on my writing.
    Most sincerely,
    Alison

Leave a Reply

